Sinlung Hills Council covers an area in and around the inter-state borders with neighbouring Assam and Manipur in the north eastern corner of Mizoram. The Council covers 31 Villages under 3 (three) different Rural Development Blocks and under 3 (three) different districts. As per 2011 Census, it has a population of 30,160with 94.68% literacy and 95.27% Scheduled Tribe population. 

In July 1986, some Hmar leaders in Mizoram formed the Mizoram Hmar Association (MHA), which was later renamed as the Hmar People Convention (HPC). The HPC spearheaded a political movement for social, economic, cultural and educational advancement of the Hmar people in line with the Autonomous District Councils (ADCs) of the Lai, Mara and Chakma. The HPC representatives and the Government of Mizoram, after multiple rounds of talks, signed a Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) in Aizawl on July 27, 1994 and the Sinlung Hills Development Council was officially formed on August 27, 1997.

At the time of the MoS signing in 1994, some of the HPC leaders formed the HPC (Democratic), which has continued an armed movement for autonomy within Mizoram. To end a prolonged militancy in Mizoram, a series of Peace Talks were held between the Government of Mizoram and the Leaders of the Hmar People’s Convention (Democratic). Settlement on various issues were reached during the course of the Talk and Memorandum of Settlement to give enhanced autonomy in the manner of administration, in the sphere of socio-economic, political and cultural development of the people under the jurisdiction of the Sinlung Hills Council was signed between the Government of Mizoram and the Leaders of the Hmar People’s Convention (Democratic) on 2nd April, 2018. Sinlung Hills Council was established by the Sinlung Hills Council Act, 2018 (No. 6 of 2018) which came into force on 5th July, 2018.

The Sinlung Hills Council Act, 2018 constituted Sinlung Hills Council consisting of a General Council and Executive Council. The General Council consists of fourteen Council Members of which twelve members are elected and two members are nominated. The Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Council are elected from amongst the members and by the members having voting rights at the time of such election. The executive functions of the Council vest in the Executive Council consisting of Chief Executive Member and four Executive Members. The Secretariat of the Council is headed by the Secretary of the Sinlung Hills Council who is assisted by Development Officer, Under Secretary, Finance and Accounts Officer, Superintendent and such other Officer and Staff of the Council.